Ogun State of Nigeria is a creation of the States (Creation and Transitional Provisions) Decree of 1976. It has its hierarchy of courts which ranges from High Courts, Magistrates Courts and Customary Courts.

Each category of court has its own Rules of Court guiding its operation. These Courts have been operating within the full complement of their Rules and have contributed immensely towards the development of legal jurisprudence in Nigeria and in particular, Ogun State.

The Head of Administration and the Chief Accounting Officer of the Ogun State Judiciary is the Chief Registrar, Mr. O. S. Oloyede. He is ably assisted by Mrs. O. O. Stanley, the Deputy Chief Registrar (Special Duties), Mr. A. O. Araba, the Deputy Chief Registrar (Legal and Director of OMDC) and Mrs. O. A. Sofowora, the Deputy Chief Registrar (Admin)

The Chief Registrar and his team are being supported by the Heads of the following Departments: Administration, Establishment, Accounts, Internal Audit/Budgeting Section, Information Unit, ICT Unit, Criminal Justice Fast Track Clinic, Confidential Registry,Maintenance Section, Protocol Section, Law Library, Records & Statistics, Store Unit, Registry, Appeal Section, Bailiff Section and Probate Registry. There are eight (10) Judicial Divisions, eighteen (20) Magisterial Districts and thirty-nine (39) Customary Courts.