The Ogun State Judiciary is the third arm of Government. It came into existence at the creation of Ogun State in 1976. It operates through three hierarchies of Courts which are the High Courts, Magistrate Courts and Customary Courts. These Courts have Rules guiding their operation. The Courts have been operating within the full complement of their Rules and have contributed immensely to the development of legal jurisprudence in Nigeria and in particular Ogun State.

Ogun State Judiciary is presently headed by the Honourable Chief Judge, Hon. Justice M A. Dipeolu FICMC, FHNR. His Lordship is the professional head and Chief Executive of Ogun State Judiciary with other Thirty-Four High Court Judges ably manning the High Court Bench.

There is also a Customary Court of Appeal which consists of its President Hon. Justice A. O. Femi-Segun and Seven other Judges.

On the Lower Court Bench, there are Sixty (60) Magistrates ranging from Chief Magistrate Grade 1 to Magistrate Grade II.

At the grassroots level are the Customary Courts jurisdictionally classified into Grades I and II which are being presided over by seasoned, knowledgeable, and honorable personalities.

The Chief Registrar is the Head of Administration and Chief Accounting Officer of the Ogun State Judiciary. He is ably assisted by Four Deputies i.e. Deputy Chief Registrar (Legal), Deputy Chief Registrar (General Duties), Deputy Chief Registrar (Special Duties) and Deputy Chief Registrar (Admin).

The Chief Registrar and his team are supported by the Heads of the following sections – Establishment, Accounts, Library, Information, ICT, Maintenance, Protocol, Records/Statistics and Probate.

Ogun State Judiciary has Eleven (11) Judicial Divisions namely: Abeokuta, Ijebu – Ode, Sagamu, Ota, Ilaro, Ijebu – Igbo, Abigi, Ifo, Aiyetoro, Ipokia and Idi – Oke.

Also, there are Twenty – Four (24) Magisterial Districts and Forty – Four (44) Customary Courts across the State.

There are also 6 Small Claims Courts located at Abeokuta, ilaro, Ijebu-ode, Sagamu, Ifo and Ota respectively.